3 Telecommunications

Go to content

Main menu

Latest Updates

17 Mar 2017
30 Mar 2017
26 Apr 2017
26 Apr 2017
30 May 2017
21 Jun 2017
12 Aug 2017
31 Aug 2017
2 Sep 2017
2 Sep 2017
10 Sep 2017
2 Oct 2017
5 Nov 2017
10 Nov 2017
15 Nov 2017
19 Nov 2017

Roll of Honour/Passing Parade (New Page)
Committee-Admin/Payments (New Page)
Committee-Admin/Emails/ANZAC Day, Byron Bay, from 797
Photo Gallery/ANZAC Day 2017
Roll of Honour/Passing Parade/Archie Gates
Committee-Admin/Emails/From Norx (758)
Committee-Admin/Emails/ RAAF Rathmines BBQ
Members/Sports/LSWCC in 2017
Committee-Admin/Notices/Perth WA - ANZAC Day 2018
Roll of Honour- Brian Howlett
Roll of Honour - Peter McCormack
Roll of Honour - Brett Green , Martin Lunn
Roll of Honour - Bede Mecham (Also see History/Unit Crest and Motto)
Roll of Homour - Les McLean
Passing Parade/Bede Mecham
Photo Gallery/AGM 2017

(October 1946 - December 1991 - ROYAL AUSTRALIAN AIR FORCE)

On 3rd October 1946 memorandum No 1081 was issued stating that No 3 Telecommunications Unit (3TU) was to be formed.  It went on to say 3TU was to be established on the 15th October as the eventual replacement for the eight Wireless Telegraphy Units in active service during World War II.

Recruitment was sought from the Telegraphist mustering with the first two members being posted to 3TU in October 1946.  Following specialist training at Ballarat, Harman and Cabarlah, on the evening shift of 6th September 1947, 3TU became operational; 24 hours a day for the next 44 years.

At all times, the members of 3TU were patiently, quietly and effectively conducted business. The contributions members of 3TU have made to Australia’s security were significant if unheralded.

From the infancy of 3TU in 1947, the unit underwent a number of cosmetic changes to what was perceived to be a welcoming home to Signals Operators.  Members of 3TU always relished the country club atmosphere which was possibly the greatest contributing factor to the very high moral and esprit de corps constantly enjoyed at this unit.

3TU remained one of the favoured working environments in the RAAF until its closure on 1st December 1991.

3 Telecommunications Unit holds the distinction of continual service, greater than any other RAAF unit.

Back to content | Back to main menu